About Us

“To record, preserve and present the history of Southern Alberta’s Jews and the communities they built.”That is the mandate of the Jewish Historical Society of Southern Alberta. The JHSSA is an independent not-for-profit organization with a volunteer board of directors. It is sustained through membership fees, fundraising and donations.The JHSSA was incorporated in 1990, with Jay Joffe serving as president from its inception until his untimely death in August 2006. Since the beginning, the JHSSA has become a major resource for students, historians, genealogists and many others seeking more information about their roots and about the Jewish communities of this area.
House of Jacob Synagogue, around 1967, 323 5th Ave S.E. Calgary. (JHSSA photo #103)

Board and Office Staff

President Saundra Lipton
Vice President Paul Finkleman
Secretary Karen Roth
Treasurer Shauna Switzer
Past President Betty Sherwood
Director at large Zena Drabinsky
Directors Rebecca Aizenman
Emanuel Cohen
Ken Drabinsky
Arnold Dvorkin
Barry Finkelman
Directors Cont.. Halley Girvitz
Sheila Gurevitch
Naomi Hashman
Lil Hershfield
Barb Joffe
Naomi Kerr
Naomi Lakritz
Harry Sanders
Allan Sattin
Laura Shuler
Caroline Ullman
Honourary Directors Hy Belzberg
Jack Edelson
Henry Gutman
Librarian and Archivist Agi Romer Segal
Archival Assistant Roberta Kerr
Office Staff Katie Baker